The timed sessions on a Tuesday night are over for another year and the final results are attached. Let me start with a big thank you to Carol Hatton, Helen Marriott and Pete Connor who between them did virtually all the timing throughout the summer.

Barrel Races.

Competition was very keen in both the men and women's series. In the men Richie Rogers seized the title in the final session, overtaking Mark Tidman who was joint second with Melvin Swallow and Roger Williams was one point further back in fourth place. The fastest time of the year was recorded by John O'Grady (Runcorn) with 10m 12s. Jenny Illidge (Worcester) won the Ladies by just two points from Jenny Swallow with Jean Ashley in third place.

The Junior series were more clear cut with David Hatton taking the boy's from Jake Oldfield and Rona Fishburn winning the girl's from Jess Crozier.

Time Trial.

A new name heads the list in the division 1-3 category. David Hatton takes the series win for the first time and also recored the fastest time of the year (39m 59s). Melvin Swallow was in second place with daughter Jenny in third.

The division 4-6 group saw Roger Williams run away with the series with Bob Scholey and Jean Ashley some way behind in second and third places.

Over the shorter course (division 7-9) Ray Stamp was victorious for the umpteenth year with Dave Madeley and Rona Fishburn in second and third positions.

See 'Results' for Final Standings 

Tuesday night sessions will continue through the dark evenings in a variety of formats but will not be timed and those taking part should remember to use lights back and front and wear buoyancy aids when appropriate.